History of IBIDEN


NovInaugural Meeting was held in Ogaki Town for the foundation of Ibigawa Electric Power Co., LTD. (with its headquarters located in Akasaka, Tokyo), Yujiro Tachikawa was appointed as the first president.

Inaugural meeting

Inaugural meeting

The Company's first president, Yujiro Tachikawa

The first president, Yujiro Tachikawa


JunStarted electric power transmission from Nishi-Yokoyama Power Station (permitted power output: 3,000 kW).


JanEstablished Ogaki Electrification Plant(known later as Nishi-Ogaki Plant)

FebStarted manufacturing and sales of carbide products (until 1991).

The electric furnace business during the Taisho Period (1912-1926)

View of electric furnace (5 years after foundation)


AprStarted production of Ferrosilicon (silicon iron) in Ogaki Electrification Plant (later transferred business to Gama Plant, until 1984)

DecIncorporated Ibigawa Denka Kogyo, Tokai Denka Kogyo, and Nihon Denki Seitetsusho into Ibigawa Denka Co., Ltd.


JunMerged Nihon Denki Kokuen into Ibigawa Denka Co., Ltd.,Started production and sales of carbide products


FebChanged the corporate name to Ibigawa Denki Co., Ltd.

JunStarted power transmission from Higashi-Yokoyama Power Station: permitted output: 6,400kW

The Higashi-Yokoyama Power Plant of the day under construction

Higashi-Yokoyama Power Plant Station (under construction)


JunMerged Yoro Railway into Ise Electric Railway, then transferred the business to Yoro Electric Railway in 1927

AugEstablished Ogaki Carbon Plant (later Kido Plant) for production of carbon products for Sperry type search lighting system

A manufacturing scene at the Ogaki Plant during the early Showa Period (1926-1989)

Site views in Ogaki Plant (in 1922)


MayStarted power transmission from Hirose Power Station, permitted power output: 5,200kW

DecAnnounced the inauguration, Yukio Sakurauchi assumed the presidency upon the death of the first president in December 14


NovAnnounced the inauguration on November 5, Sakurauchi to Chairman of the board, Tokujiro Tanaka to President Ibigawa Denki Co., Ltd. was put under the capital of Toho Electric Power Co., Ltd.


MarDesignated by Navy as the main plant of carbon products for Sperry type lighting system


MarProvided the Nippon Synthetic Chemical Industry with electric power and carbide

JunAnnounced the resignation and inauguration on June 30, President Tanaka resigned Executive managing Director, Masaharu Kurushima took over the position of representative director


MarStarted production of lime nitrogen (calcium cyanamide. until 1981)

DecStarted power transmission from Kawakami Power Station, permitted output 2,950kW


JunAnnounced the inauguration on June 29, Executive Managing Director Masaharu Kurushima to President


AugAquired Denki Kogyo-sho and took over its Ogaki Plant(later Gama Plant)


JanCorporate name changed to Ibigawa Denki Kogyo Co., Ltd.

MarStarted transmission from Nishi-Daira Power Station, permitted output: 11,200kW


AprApr Nishi-daira Power Station and its transmission facilities transferred to Japan Electric Generation and Transmission Company in accordance with Electric Management Enforcement Ordinance. Nishi-Yokoyama Power Station, and generation/transmission facilities of Ogaki/Godo/Gifu substations transferred to Chubu Electric Power Co. Ltd. in accordance with Electric Power Distribution Ordinance. Shifted to the management of electrochemical business by private power generation

JunAnnounced the resignation and inauguration on June 27, President Kurushima resigned, Toshio Miyadera assumed the presidency. Gengo Kodera assumed the office as Chairman. Put under the capital of Dainippon Spinners Co., Ltd. (textile company)

The Nishi-Yokoyama Power Plant is contributed.

Nishi-Yokoyama Power Station transferred to Chubu Electric Co., Ltd.

The plant (now the Aoyanagi Plant) is contributed by Dainippon Spinners Co., Ltd.

The plant (now the Aoyanagi Plant) is contributed by Dainippon Spinners Co., Ltd.


NovBegan the manufacture of search light carbon (until 1945) at Aoyanagi Plnt (partly invested by Dainippon Spinners)